SHARJAH, United Arab Emirates- Three players shared the first place at the 21st Sharjah International Chess Championship, with 7.5 points.

After using the tie-break system, Armenian grand-master won the championship, followed by Egyptian grand-masters, Ahmed Adley and Bassim Amin.

Six players shared the 4th place, at the same total number of points (7 points) and the tie-break system was used again. Accordingly, GM Elmar Magerramov (Azerbaijan) took the 4th place.

Polish grand-master, Bartlomiej Herbela and his compatriot GM Aleksander Mista, came in 5th and 6th places, respectively, followed by Moroccan International Master, Ali Sabar.

Azerbaijan GM, Gadir Guseinov was 8th, Yemeni GM Bashir Al Qadimi was 9th and the Uzbekistani GM, Alexei Barsov was 10th.

Twenty-four countries and 14 grand-masters participated in the 21st Sharjah International Chess Championship, which opened on June 11, under the patronage of Dr. Sheikh Sultan bin Mohammed Al Qasimi, Supreme Council Member and Ruler of Sharjah.

Source: Name News Network