Abu Dhabi to host IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s Challenge Cup of Asia on Sunday

ABU DHABI, Nine women’s teams will play at the 2019 IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s Challenge Cup of Asia from 14th to 19th April 2019 in Abu Dhabi. It will be the first IIHF women’s tournament to be hosted in the UAE. Kuwait and Mongolia are sending their women national teams for the first time in the history of the competition.

The International Ice Hockey Federation, IIHF, has announced the host cities of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia and Abu Dhabi for the competition. Kuala Lumpur will hold the men’s and the under-20 men’s events at the Malaysia National Ice Skating Stadium from 3rd to 8th December.

The teams will play a single round robin in two separate divisions. New Zealand U18 women’s team, Malaysia, Singapore, Thailand and Taiwan will play in the top division; host UAE, the Philippines, India, and Kuwait in the Division I tournament.

The six-day IIHF Ice Hockey Women’s Challenge Cup is co-organised by UAE Ice Sports Federation, UAEISF, and Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Sports Academy.

Source: Emirates News Agency